- Advertisment -
HomeNationalmaharashtra political crisis know history of shiv sena revolt
- Advertisment -

maharashtra political crisis know history of shiv sena revolt

- Advertisment -

With time, the political crisis in Maharashtra is deepening. Shiv Sena rebel Eknath Shinde is now claiming the support of 45 MLAs, including independents. From the break-up of the ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) alliance to the disintegration of Shiv Sena, the threat is being told. However, this is not the first time that Shiv Sena’s own leaders have revolted. The party has experience of many such rebellions. Like the previous rebellions, the perpetrator of this rebellion is also a staunch Shiv Sainik. Let us know about the three rebellions that put Shiv Sena in trouble.

  1. OBC leader rebelled against Shiv Sena under the influence of Mandal: It was 60’s. An OBC boy was so impressed by a speech by Bal Thackeray that Shiv became a Sainik. Started career in politics as an activist. In 1973, the country’s richest Mumbai Municipal Corporation contested the elections and became a corporator. Climbing the small ladder became the mainstay of the party and the party chief. This was Chhagan Bhujbal. Dabang OBC leader of Maharashtra politics. Shiv Sena emerged as the single largest opposition party in the 1985 assembly elections. Chhagan Bhujbal considered the seat of Leader of Opposition to be confirmed for himself but Bal Thackeray gave this post to Manohar Joshi. Bhujbal was made the mayor of Mumbai to limit the politics of the city.

    The coalition government of the National Front at the Center decided to give reservation to the backward classes by implementing the recommendations of the Mandal Commission. Coalition ally BJP supported it. Shiv Sena and BJP had an alliance in the state but Shiv Sena opposed OBC reservation. Chhagan Bhujbal opposed this. Strong statement was also given against Manohar Joshi. Bal Thackeray tried for reconciliation but the situation kept getting worse. Then one day Bhujbal revolted from the party with 18 of the 52 Shiv Sena MLAs. Formed a separate faction Shivsena-B. Later all of them joined the Congress. In this way Chhagan Bhujbal became the first Shiv Sainik, who made an incision in Shiv Sena.

  1. Narayan did not like the emergence of Uddhav: Bal Thackeray’s Uddhav enters politics around the year 2002. An atmosphere is created for them in Shiv Sena. First in charge of assembly elections, then working president. The old Shiv Sainik Narayan Rane could not digest this change at all. Rane was in Shiv Sena since the age of 16. Rane had become a corporator, MLA, Leader of Opposition, Minister and Chief Minister from Shiv Sena. Narayan Rane was counted at number two after Bal Thackeray. But he did not accept Uddhav’s leadership. In 2005, Rane left the party along with 10 Shiv Sena MLAs and joined the Congress on 3 July 2005. In 2017, Rane also left the Congress and formed the ‘Maharashtra Swabhiman Paksha’. Later joined BJP. At present, he is in the cabinet of the Modi government at the Center.

  1. When there was rebellion from within the family: The biggest blow to Shiv Sena came from within the Thackeray family. Once Bal Thackeray’s nephew Raj Thackeray was considered as the rising sun of Maharashtra politics. After Bal Thackeray, the future of Shiv Sena was being seen in Raj Thackeray. Raj was like a shadow of Bal Thackeray. Like them, so too the dress, conversation and speech style. But when the opportunity came to choose the successor, Bal Thackeray put Uddhav aside by leaving Raj Thackeray. As Uddhav’s position in the party increased, Raj Thackeray was pushed behind the scenes. Then came January 2006. Raj Thackeray, along with a large number of Shiv Sena workers, parted ways from the party. In March 2006, he formed his own party, named – Maharashtra Navnirman Sena.

, maharashtra political crisis know history of shiv sena revolt

- Advertisment -

Most Popular