- Advertisment -
HomeWorldManik Saha to take oath as 12th Chief Minister of Tripura ...
- Advertisment -

Manik Saha to take oath as 12th Chief Minister of Tripura India News

- Advertisment -

Manik Saha to take oath as 12th Chief Minister of Tripura India News

Agartala: Dental surgeon-turned-politician and Tripura BJP President Manik Saha will on Sunday take oath as the 12th Chief Minister of the state, following sudden political developments as Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb resigned from his post on Saturday.

Party sources have not yet clarified whether Saha will take oath alone or whether a new minister will take oath along with him.

69-year-old Saha, who was elected to the Rajya Sabha from Tripura’s lone seat on March 31, was elected as the leader of the BJP legislature party on Saturday, following which he met Governor Satyadev Narayan Arya and formed the government with a letter. submitted a claim. party legislators support

Saha, a father of two daughters, is to be elected to the state assembly within the next six months. Declaring Saha’s name for the top post after a hurriedly convened BJP legislature party meeting, Deb said he would extend full cooperation to the new chief minister.

Saha, a professor at Tripura Medical College and BR Ambedkar Memorial Teaching Hospital in Agartala as well as president of the Tripura Cricket Association, also joined the BJP in 2015.

In 2021, Saha, a close aide of outgoing Chief Minister Deb, became the president of the Tripura BJP Pradesh Committee.

Earlier on Saturday, Deb, who returned here after meeting the party’s central leaders including BJP President JP Nadda in Delhi, immediately went to the Raj Bhavan and resigned from his post.

Tripura, since May 2019, has been witnessing waves of rebellion against Deb by disgruntled BJP legislators and leaders, who later called a public meeting and announced to seek a public mandate, though the move was later called off after intervention by central leaders. was cancelled.

Elections to the 60-member Tripura assembly are to be held in January-February next year. After resigning from the chief minister’s post, Deb, the former state BJP president, said that in the interest of the party and in view of the assembly elections to be held next year, he resigned from the chief minister’s post.

“Whatever responsibility the party gave me, I tried to fulfill it with utmost sincerity and honesty. Now if the party decides that I have to work for the organization, I will do that. During my tenure as Chief Minister, I Tried to bring justice to the people and tried to do development and welfare works for the all round development of Tripura,” Deb told the media.

Deb became chief minister after the BJP-IPFT alliance came to power after defeating the Left Front in the assembly elections on March 9, 2018, ending the latter’s 25-year rule.

Amid open outrage by a section of BJP MLAs and leaders, the cabinet expansion took place on August 31 last year, inducting three ministers, even as disgruntled legislators and party leaders boycotted the swearing-in ceremony. Did.

Since the BJP-IPFT government took power in 2018, three ministerial posts were lying vacant and in May 2019, former health and information technology minister Sudip Roy Burman was sacked after differences with the chief minister, increasing the number of vacancies. It’s four.

Amid the rebellion of a section of BJP legislators and leaders, several senior leaders of the central party visited Tripura on several occasions to resolve internal disputes and address deficiencies in both the government and the organisation.

Disgruntled BJP MLAs Sudip Roy Burman and Ashish Kumar Saha, who resigned from the assembly and the party on February 7 this year, joined the Congress in New Delhi the next day.

Earlier, BJP MLA Ashish Das, including Deb, had joined the Trinamool Congress on October 31 last year after openly criticizing the saffron party and its leadership, following which he was disqualified from the Tripura Assembly.

Roy Burman, six other MLAs and several leaders left the Congress in 2016 and joined the Trinamool Congress and the next year (2017) he joined the BJP and helped the saffron party win the elections in 2018.

, Manik Saha to take oath as 12th Chief Minister of Tripura India News

News From News

- Advertisment -

Most Popular